Dataset Viewer
Auto-converted to Parquet Duplicate
state
stringlengths
4
20
dmv_agency
stringlengths
34
92
fee
stringlengths
2
397
in_person_required
stringclasses
3 values
deadline_days_or_note
stringlengths
90
206
official_source_url
stringlengths
26
125
last_verified_date
stringdate
2026-06-14 00:00:00
2026-06-20 00:00:00
Alabama
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA), Driver License Division
Charged at the 'normal duplicate fee'; a specific dollar amount for the duplicate is not itemized on the official fees page. Fee varies - see source.
yes
null
https://www.alea.gov/dps/driver-license/driver-license-forms
2026-06-16
Arizona
Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (ADOT MVD)
$12
yes
DEADLINE: You must update your name with MVD within 10 days of your legal name change taking effect. Source: azdot.gov change-your-name page.
https://azdot.gov/mvd/services/driver-services/driver-license-information/fees-driver-license
2026-06-14
California
California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
$37 — the cited DMV fee page lists 'Replacement (lost or stolen) / Change DL/ID Information' for a Class C license at $37; the $46 on the same page is the original/renewal fee, not a name/information change
yes
null
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/driver-licenses-identification-cards/licensing-fees/
2026-06-14
Colorado
Colorado Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
fee varies — see source (official current fee schedule; Colorado DMV fees were adjusted June 30, 2025 and July 1, 2025, so confirm current amount on the State DMV Fees page)
yes
DEADLINE: If you change your name due to marriage (or divorce, civil union, or similar legal change), you must renew/update your credential with the new name within 30 days of the name change.
https://dmv.colorado.gov/state-dmv-fees
2026-06-14
Connecticut
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (CT DMV)
$30
yes
null
https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/Licenses/Licenses/Make-Changes-to-License/Change-of-Name
2026-06-14
Delaware
Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Varies — see source. The Delaware DMV name-change page does not publish a single flat dollar figure; we link the official source rather than assert a number.
yes
30-DAY DEADLINE: Within 30 days after legally changing your name, you must personally go to a Delaware DMV office to change the name on your driver license.
https://www.dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/other/index.shtml?dc=dr_oth_change
2026-06-20
District of Columbia
District of Columbia Department of Motor Vehicles (DC DMV)
Varies — see source. The DC DMV name-change page does not publish a single flat dollar figure for a name change; the fee is the applicable driver-license/ID service fee. We link the official source rather than assert a number.
yes
null
https://dmv.dc.gov/service/driver-licenses
2026-06-20
Florida
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV)
$25.00 (source-cited)
yes
30-DAY DEADLINE: FLHSMV states name and address changes must be updated on both your driver license/ID and your title/registration within 30 days after changing your name.
https://www.flhsmv.gov/fees/
2026-06-14
Georgia
Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS)
No name-change fee is stated on the official DDS Update License page. A 'one free name or address change during the license term' policy appeared in a Google search snippet but could NOT be confirmed in the body of any official DDS page fetched, so treat as unconfirmed. Replacement/duplicate card (if applicable) is $10...
yes
60-DAY DEADLINE: By Georgia law you must update the name on your license/permit/ID within 60 days of the name change.
https://dds.georgia.gov/georgia-licenseid/existing-licenseid/how-do-i-replace-license
2026-06-14
Idaho
Idaho Transportation Department (ITD), Division of Motor Vehicles
Varies — see source. The Idaho ITD required-documents page does not publish a dollar fee for a name change; ITD directs fee questions to its DMV line. We link the official source rather than assert a number.
see-source
null
https://itd.idaho.gov/dmv/drivers-licenses-id-cards/
2026-06-20
Illinois
Illinois Secretary of State, Driver Services Department
$5 (source-cited)
yes
10-DAY DEADLINE: State law requires notifying the Secretary of State of a name change within 10 days.
https://www.ilsos.gov/content/dam/publications/pdf_publications/dsd_a229.pdf
2026-06-20
Indiana
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)
$9.00 per the official BMV Fee Chart (fee to amend a credential). Confirm current amount on the source as fees can change.
yes
DEADLINE: You must visit a BMV branch within 30 days of a legal name change to apply for an updated license/ID card.
https://www.in.gov/bmv/files/Fee_Chart.pdf
2026-06-14
Iowa
Iowa Department of Transportation (Iowa DOT), Motor Vehicle Division
$10.00
yes
null
https://iowadot.gov/drivers-licenses-ids/other-services/change-information
2026-06-15
Kansas
Kansas Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles
$16.00
yes
null
https://www.ksrevenue.gov/dovdlfaq.html
2026-06-15
Kentucky
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet — Division of Driver Licensing (DRIVE)
$15.00
yes
DEADLINE: After a name (or address) change, the applicant must apply for an updated credential within 10 days (per the REAL ID FAQ).
https://drive.ky.gov/RealID/Pages/FAQs.aspx
2026-06-14
Louisiana
Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV), Department of Public Safety
$13.00 (a local fee may apply, not to exceed $4)
yes
null
https://expresslane.la.gov/omv/resources/faqs/
2026-06-14
Maryland
Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA)
$30 (fee schedule effective September 1, 2025)
yes
DEADLINE: Maryland law requires drivers to notify the MVA of a name change within 30 days.
https://mva.maryland.gov/licenses-ids/license-id-fees
2026-06-14
Massachusetts
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV)
$25.00 (source-cited)
yes
null
https://www.mass.gov/doc/rmv-schedule-of-fees/download
2026-06-20
Michigan
Michigan Department of State / Secretary of State (SOS)
$9
yes
null
https://www.michigan.gov/sos/all-services/license-or-id-name-correction
2026-06-14
Minnesota
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
$26 — DVS lists the duplicate/replacement card (all DL classes) at $26; a marriage name change is issued as a duplicate, so $26 is the name-change-relevant figure. The $46 on the same page is the original Class D issuance fee, not a name change.
yes
null
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/license-and-id/dl-and-id-card-fees
2026-06-16
Mississippi
Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS), Driver Service Bureau
$11.00
see-source
null
https://www.driverservicebureau.dps.ms.gov/Drivers/Driver_Service_Fees
2026-06-15
Missouri
Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR), Driver License Bureau
fee varies — see source. The official PDF fee chart could not be machine-parsed to confirm the exact current duplicate amount; verify on the DOR fee chart before publishing a number.
yes
null
https://dor.mo.gov/driver-license/documents/feechart.pdf
2026-06-16
Montana
Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD)
Varies — see source. The Montana MVD name-change page states you pay 'the required fees' for a replacement license but does not publish a single flat dollar figure; we link the official replace-license page rather than assert a number.
yes
null
https://mvdmt.gov/replace-license-id/
2026-06-20
Nebraska
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Varies — see source. The Nebraska DMV name-change page states only that 'the appropriate License Fees' apply and links its fee page; it does not publish a single flat dollar figure for a name change, so we link the official source rather than assert a number.
yes
Nebraska statute requires the name change to be completed on your license, permit, or ID within 60 days of your legal name change.
https://dmv.nebraska.gov/dl/licenses-and-permits
2026-06-15
Nevada
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
$8.50
yes
null
https://dmv.nv.gov/namechange.htm
2026-06-15
New Jersey
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJ MVC)
$11 (listed as 'Changes/duplicate' on the NJ MVC license fee schedule)
yes
null
https://www.nj.gov/mvc/license/licfees.htm
2026-06-14
New Mexico
New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD)
Varies — see source. The New Mexico MVD name-change pages do not publish a name-change-specific fee; the general driver-license page lists $18.00 for a four-year license or $34.00 for an eight-year license, but those are not tied to a name change. We link the official source rather than assert a name-change number.
yes
null
https://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/nm-drivers-licenses-ids/
2026-06-20
New York
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (NY DMV)
$12.50 (source-cited)
no
null
https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/change-information-on-dmv-photo-documents
2026-06-14
North Carolina
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV), N.C. Department of Transportation (NCDOT)
fee varies — see source. The exact base duplicate fee is not stated on the NCDMV name-changes or replacement pages reviewed; confirm the current amount at a DMV office or on the official fee schedule. (A web-search snippet cited $16.75 but this could not be verified on an official page that was directly read, so it is ...
yes
60-DAY DEADLINE: You have 60 days after the name change occurs to notify NCDMV and obtain a duplicate license/ID with your new name.
https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/license-id/renewal-replacement/Pages/replacement-duplicate-license.aspx
2026-06-16
North Dakota
North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT), Drivers License Division
$3.00 — NDDOT states that if you are not in need of a renewal, you submit a $3.00 fee and have a new picture taken. (If you are renewing at the same time, the standard renewal fee applies instead.)
yes
10-DAY DEADLINE: A ND Drivers License site must be visited by anyone who has a change of name to purchase a corrected license within 10 days.
https://www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/driverslicense/addnamechange.htm
2026-06-20
Ohio
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) / Deputy Registrar license agencies
$29.00 (listed as "Duplicate Operator $29.00 / $29.00"). No separately labeled name-change fee published; confirm exact charge with deputy registrar.
see-source
null
https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/doc-fees.aspx
2026-06-16
Oklahoma
Service Oklahoma (Department of Public Safety)
$25.00
see-source
null
https://oklahoma.gov/service/popular-services/renew-replace.html
2026-06-15
Oregon
Oregon Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV)
fee varies — see source (the official fees page lists amounts under 'Replacements'; exact base amount not independently confirmed from the rendered fee table)
yes
null
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/fees/driver.aspx
2026-06-16
Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT), Driver and Vehicle Services (DMV)
$42.50 per official Payments and Fees page. Confirm exact charged amount at the Driver License Center; fees are subject to change.
yes
null
https://www.pa.gov/agencies/dmv/resources/payments-and-fees
2026-06-14
Rhode Island
Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
$28.50 — the RI DMV fee table lists the duplicate/update license fee at $28.50; the name-change page itself says costs are in the DMV Fee Table without an inline amount. There is no line literally labeled 'name change', so this is the applicable duplicate/update fee.
yes
null
https://dmv.ri.gov/licenses-permits-ids/drivers-licenses/license-fees
2026-06-20
South Carolina
South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV)
$10
yes
The '10 days' deadline shown on the SCDMV page applies to updating your ADDRESS after a move, not specifically to a marriage name change; confirm any time requirement directly with the SCDMV.
https://dmv.sc.gov/driver-services/drivers-license/address-or-name-change
2026-06-14
South Dakota
South Dakota Department of Public Safety (DPS), Driver Licensing
$15 — South Dakota DPS states a duplicate driver's license costs $15, and a name or address change costs $15. (A new/renewal license is $28.)
yes
null
https://dps.sd.gov/driver-licensing/south-dakota-licensing-information/fees
2026-06-20
Tennessee
Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security — Driver Services
$8.00 total ($6.00 license + $2.00 application fee)
yes
null
https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/helpful-information/fees.html
2026-06-14
Texas
Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) — Driver License Division
$11 (source-cited)
yes
Hard 30-day deadline: Texas DPS instructs you to visit a driver license office within 30 days of the change to update your name.
https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/driver-license-fees
2026-06-14
Utah
Utah Driver License Division (DLD)
$23.00
yes
null
https://dld.utah.gov/fees/
2026-06-15
Vermont
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
$24.00 — Vermont's official fees table lists the driver-license 'Replacement' fee at $24.00; a name change is issued as a replacement/corrected license. (There is no line literally labeled 'name change'.)
yes
30-DAY DEADLINE: You are required by law to notify the Vermont DMV within 30 days of any change to your address or name.
https://dmv.vermont.gov/licenses/fees
2026-06-20
Virginia
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
fee varies - see source. DMV states you must 'pay the appropriate licensing fees'; the exact dollar amount is not stated on the name-change pages reviewed.
yes
null
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/online-services/name-change
2026-06-14
Washington
Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL)
fee varies — see source. The DOL change-name pages state a fee is required ('Payment for the fee for a new license with updated information' / 'You may need to pay a fee') but do not list a specific dollar amount; they direct applicants to the driver licensing fees page.
yes
No deadline is stated by DOL for updating your NAME after marriage (the 10-day deadline DOL lists applies only to ADDRESS changes, not name changes).
https://dol.wa.gov/driver-licenses-and-permits/enhanced-driver-license-edl/change-name-or-address-enhanced-driver-license-edl
2026-06-14
West Virginia
West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Varies — see source. West Virginia does not publish a flat duplicate/name-change dollar figure; renewal fees follow an age-based formula ($5.00 per year until your age is divisible by five), and a REAL ID adds an additional $10.00 fee. We link the official source rather than assert a single name-change number.
see-source
null
https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/Drivers/Pages/Renewal-Fees.aspx
2026-06-20
Wisconsin
Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) — Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
$14
yes
REAL ID enforcement for federal facilities and domestic air travel has been in effect (deadline May 7, 2025); ensure your credential is REAL ID-compliant if you fly domestically or enter federal facilities.
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/dmv-fees.aspx
2026-06-14
Wyoming
Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT), Driver Services
Varies — see source. The Wyoming Driver Services page refers only to the standard renewal fee and does not publish a dollar amount for a name change; we link the official source rather than assert a number.
yes
10-DAY DEADLINE: When a holder of a Wyoming driver's license or ID card changes their mailing address, residence, or their name, they must notify WYDOT Driver Services within 10 days.
https://dot.state.wy.us/home/driver_license_records/add_or_change_information.html
2026-06-20

U.S. Name Change Requirements by State (Driver's License, After Marriage)

A verified, state-by-state reference for changing the name on a U.S. driver's license or state ID after marriage. Each row is checked against the official state DMV or licensing-agency source, with the source URL and the date it was last verified.

What's in it

46 U.S. jurisdictions, one row each, with these fields:

Field Meaning
state State or jurisdiction
dmv_agency The agency that issues the license
fee Cost to update the license, in USD
in_person_required Whether an in-person office visit is required
deadline_days_or_note The legal deadline to update, or a note if none is published
official_source_url The official government page the row was verified against
last_verified_date When the row was last checked

What the data shows

  • Of the 46 jurisdictions checked, 40 require an in-person office visit to change a name after marriage.
  • Only 18 publish a deadline.
  • Fees range from $3 to $42.50.

Sourcing and license

Every row links to its official state source. The data is published under CC BY 4.0, so you are free to use, cite, or redistribute it with attribution.

Maintained by NameChangePacket (namechangepacket.com). To verify any row, follow its official_source_url.

Downloads last month
17
Free AI Image Generator No sign-up. Instant results. Open Now